Thanksgiving

The suns rays shower my darkened eyes with light.

As the last of the birds sing softly out my window.

Getting up late compared to other days, I quietly slip out of my room to turn on
the TV.

I gather a light breakfast and plop myself in a good viewing position.

Nine o’clock rolls around and it’s time for massive balloons, extravagant floats and wondrous performances.

The Macy’s Day Parade, a time honored tradition kicks off on it’s yearly round.

Let the festivities begin.

Sing along time, to those performers I know.

Famous balloons waving back at me, childhood friends dear to the heart.

Soon St. Nick strolls into town and ushers in the feeling of joy.

A perfect start to a perfect day.

I say my morning Happy Thanksgiving to family members and ready for the feast ahead.

Sweet aromas tickle my nose and my stomach obnoxiously growls its response back.

Sweet potatoes, green bean casserole and fruit salad mixed with a hint of yogurt line the
table front.

As the turkey all plumped with stuffing, lies neatly as the center piece.

All of the family is gathered round for the feast.

We pile high our plates, while mouths water at the sight.

We pause for a minute, and travel back in time.

To a gathering just the same, they said their thanks.

We say our prayers to the living and departed.

Our special thanks for the future to come.

Then we are silent as our famished stomachs take in more than we can eat.

In a little over fifteen minutes we emerge from our plates.

Who wants dessert?

So soon we ask?

For we are filled to capacity.

A little while later pumpkin pie, cheesecake and an assortment of desserts make their debut.

We scarf down the delicious and the fanciful.

Now that we are stuffed, the guys go back to their football game as the women gather to clean up.

Conversations strike up, as loved ones catch up.

The clock tolls late it’s time to go.

Little ones asleep, it’s home were bound.

We say our thanks and love.

We promise to see them soon, as another holiday approaches.

Now I reflect on the days events, what more could a gal ask for but family and friends?

Copyright Corbie Sinclair 2010

