Through a Child’s Eyes

The first taste of cake, a decided favorite, paints a portrait of the days events.

Pony rides, Pinata’s, and Pin the Tail on the Donkey favorite party mates.

Sunday dresses, frill and sway, suits tucked neatly for display.

As churchbells toll, signalling Sunday learning is underway.

Cars zoom, horses race, trains keep steady pace, as their travels tell stories fantasized in children’s dreams.

Food, a source of nutrition but also of amusement and entertainment.

For what kid doesn’t like cauliflower sheep or a smiley face toasted cheese?

School, oh what a dreaded word, ushers in confinement and loss of freedom.

School, a word that represents friendship, studies, and fun filled memories.

Holidays, family and friends, most favorite times of the year.

What is that I hear?

Could Santa Claus be near.

Gobble up a delicious bird, sweet potatoes and pie.

Easter Eggs in various streaks of color litter the yard and call forth to eager searchers.

These being just a few memorable times of the year.

The years fly by at an amazing pace, pretty soon I’m in my own place.

I stare at the looking glass and see myself in me.

Innocence captured by the smile on a young Childs face.

Copyright Corbie Sinclair 2010

 

This was the poem that I entered into the fall competition. I wanted to share it with all of you.

Thank you all for your support every week. It is greatly appreciated.

